Scholarship Donor Contact: Jon Bates, President, Community Foundation of Northern Illinois

Founded in 1953, the Community Foundation of Northern Illinois (CFNIL) is a regional leader in philanthropy. Their donors come from all walks of life, but are united in their commitment to the community and the recognition that their charitable intentions will be preserved for generations to come through the power of endowment. Endowments at CFNIL are prudently invested and preserved as a way to provide permanent funding for community needs in Boone, Ogle, Stephenson and Winnebago Counties.

A $15 million bequest from Dr. Louis and Violet Rubin to provide grants for general education, medical education, medical research and human services, allowed CFNIL to match $1.5 million of scholarship funds raised by the Rock Valley College Foundation to create the Rubin Education Endowment for Rock Valley College. This fund provides scholarships for Rock Valley College (RVC) students demonstrating financial need who are attending or have graduated from high schools in Boone, Ogle, Stephenson, or Winnebago Counties; who are Adult and traditional students living within the Rock Valley College district; who are participating in four-year degree programs offered at RVC.

Dr. Louis and Violet Rubin
Dr. Rubin was Rockford’s first board certified dermatologist when he opened his practice in Rockford in 1949 and was one of the founders of the Rockford Clinic in 1951. Violet was an active community volunteer, serving on the board of the Winnebago County Mental Health Association, the League of Women Voters and the Orchestra Guild.